Day 13, Gloating Ray

[Writing Prompt] Heroes, defeated. Police and military, subjugated. A villain has just succeeded in their plot.

The city didn’t burn. It wasn’t destroyed. There was no epic battle. The plan had worked. The others would laugh when I told them that world domination was a stupid goal. That it was better to take over a city and control its media. They wanted flashy battles, the adrenaline spikes, the endorphin release.

I was different. My peers tried to paint it as a deficiency. Get a load of this coward! But I studied history. I studied where my predecessors failed. Have some fun! Let go! Don’t be such a stick in the mud! My upper lip twitched.

In my civilian identity I joined the local paper. Working my way up through tenacity and a go-get-em attitude. I was thorough, persistent, and honest. I found events that served my purpose, undermined the other journalists who got in my way, and reached a point where I could do what I wanted without fear of competition. Hey Ray, thanks for getting me off that assignment. It was getting to me. I was seeing conspiracies everywhere.

One story that I’m particularly proud of is when Ferretman had been knocked into an orphanage and a kid had died. The media firestorm that I brought on his head. On all the vigilante’s heads. I had of course hired Machinor to fight him, but the funny thing about Machinor, he could meld himself into machinery. A reckless so called “hero” harming our children? Good job Raymond! These vigilantes need to know that they’re not above the law! Let me know if you find any more good leads.

I was able to get the governments to defund their militaries through a network of websites that truly believed they were making the world a better place. Our country has the highest military GDP than the next ten combined! Once my home country led the way, the others followed suit.

I won, and my peers now understand the power I wield. When they had first heard that my superpower was to have amazing conversations… Let me get this straight. Your superpower is to talk? Hahahahahha.

Amateurs.

Ferretman is currently serving a twenty year sentence. He’s a social pariah, but I visit him every once in awhile. The way his eyes light up with hatred. The way a second later he suppresses it and tries to be cordial. It gives me life.

But now the hard part begins. Now that my peers know how much power I wield, they’re much more wary. One of them even stabbed me in the kidney. Recovery was a bitch. It took me a while to get back on my feet, the boredom was the hardest part.

Now I have to figure out how to use this power to make the world a better place. A place where vigilantes are punished for daring to think that they are exempt from the law. Mother wanted me to become a doctor or a lawyer, but I think I’m doing a better job of helping people now.

Leave a Reply

